The SASS Wild Bunch Forum

Are lead cast bullets a good idea?

Ranger7541

Hi everyone I am new to reloading and also to the world of WB. Since you all have a lot of information on here I just need a little advice, are lead cast bullets worth using and do they gunk up barrels or even damage them? Also, any cleaning tips for barrels after being shot with lead cast bullets?

Ranger, anything other than ALL lead bullets are not an option when using steel targets due to bullet splatter.....And they do not damage or hurt the barrel any worse than jacketed bullets. At the slow velocities we use, barrel leading is rarely a problem when using a good quality hard cast bullet. Depending on the bullet hardness, serious leading doesn't occur until you push it past 12- 1500 FPS. And cleaning is no different, use a good bore solvent to remove any lead left in the barrel..............Mink............

• 1 month later...

As Mink said, only lead bullets allowed for WBAS. I shoot tens of thousands of lead bullets each year in CAS, WBAS and other forms of competition and never have leading problems. I have never hurt a gun shooting lead bullets at up to over 2000fps. Yes, it can be done without any leading.

Good guns with quality bullets at the speeds we shoot them and you won't have anything to worry about.

• 4 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

do they gunk up barrels

or even damage them

There is some extra fouling due to the bullet lube that you don't see with jacketed loads.   Cleans out easily with any solvent.

There is LESS damage to barrels with lead bullets than with jacketed rounds.   Who has told you a lie that lead bullets damage conventionally rifled barrels?  What do you think was used for bullets up until about 1900?    :D

Now, some types of porting that has been done on barrels, and some strange new polygonal rifling attempts, are not well suited to using lead bullets.  Neither of which are likely to show up at a WB match.

• 1 year later...