The SASS Wild Bunch Forum

New shooter questions

Dantankerous

Hi all. I have been shooting CAS for about 9 years and am wanting to get starting in WB. Not many matches in my area this time of year to watch or in which to participate and learn so I am trying to glean answers to my questions from reading and watching WB shooting videos on YouTube. A couple of questions:

It looks like shooters have the option of loading 1911 mags at their guncart OR the loading table. NO mag in 1911, of course until at loading table. Load table actions involve loading rifle and shotgun and inserting a loaded (5 rounds only) mag into 1911, but NOT racking 1911 until on the clock. Is it standard practice to have mag pouches on belt with loaded mags and an extra to load into the 1911 when approaching the loading table? Seems like 4 mag pouches (2 double mag pouches) and an extra mag, all loaded prior to arriving at load table with the extra mag carried to the load table to be inserted into the 1911 works and follows safety rules and that this combination would suffice for an average stage in terms of rounds needed? Some stages more, some less, but 5 mags per stage average?

Seems like loading all pistol mags at loading table would be burdensome and waste time therefore mags can be loaded away from loading table?

Also looks like a shooter may carry as many mags on the body as is comfortable and on opposite side of holster which I presume means a shooter can have loaded mags on his person whether he is approaching the firing line or not, much like live ammo carried in loops on cowboy gun belts at all CAS matches? No need to unload mags NOT used on stage, just keep them in mag pouch?

Shotguns... how often are there more than 5-6 shotgun targets? Most CAS shooters carry up to 20 shot shells on the belts for shooting cowboy. Is this ever really necessary in WB? How many extra shot shells might one need for a WB stage?