The SASS Wild Bunch Forum

Modern 1911

Bart Solo

Bart, all the recently built 1911s I have handled has some sharp edges, unless it is sold with the "melted" look. My custom built on a Wilson frame and slide has very sharp edges. Very crisply finished, like a 1911 should be. Its not a problem for me. I'll occasionally pinch my hand switching magazines.

That model Colt is one of my favorites and I have handled many of them. I would gladly shoot one, anytime and you don't have to worry about sharp edges. 

Bart, I have a XSE Combat Elite.  Cleaned and lubed it, checked magazines for fit and function, shot about 100 practice rounds of 230 gr ball ammo, and entered the WB match.  No hiccups.

I haven't noticed 'sharp' edges so I just compared it to a S&W1911E, Ruger SR1911, Mag Research Desert Eagle 1911G.    Perhaps the Colt's edges aren't quite as radiused as the others, but if so it's almost microscopic.  In hand, I don't notice an appreciable difference and nothing feels sharp, except for the lower edges of the forward cocking grooves on the slide, but so are they on the DE 1911G and the S&W1911E.

I think that you'll like the XSE!  Tight barrel/slide/frame fit.  Nice trigger, slightly heavier than the DE1911G but not objectionable.  I don't have a trigger pull gauge, so that's a bit subjective.  In Wild Bunch you'd not notice it.  Maybe shooting 100 yd bullseyes you might.  Miaybe.

The 1911G has the lightest, smoothest trigger pull out of the box, compared to Rock, Ruger, Rem, SA, Colt XSE, S&W 1911E.    And that's on three 1911Gs so it's probably not an anomaly.  It's actually a sleeper in value for $557 at Buds.