The SASS Wild Bunch Forum

.30-06 lead bullet loading for BAMM/GAMM?

OK, I'm new to handloading, don't have a lot of experience and don't have a lot of materials in stock yet.   

I'm looking for a .30-06 load or maybe two.  One will be for BAMM/Doughboy with a 1903A3.  The other will be for the Garand.

Right now I have plenty of .30-06 Winchester brass, plenty of Montana Bullets 150gr Spire Point coated bullets.  A limited supply of overly expensive CCI LR primers.  Powders I currently have are Clays and Unique.  Am willing to shop for another powder so long as I am not paying $100 a pound for it on Gunbroker. 

The goal is to reliably clang 30 inch steel targets out to 175-200 yards, with the loaded rounds feeding properly in both rifles and the gas system functioning in the Garand.

BTW, our club does not allow jacketed bullets.  We have had them damage the targets and inspect at the loading table to make sure none slip through.

I think I can gen up an adequate load with the Unique, pushing the 150 gr bullets to about 14-1500 FPS.  175-200 yards might just be within the envelope.

1500 fps probably wont do it for the Garand.  I understand that it takes about 1850 fps for the gas system to function.  I'm guessing I need a different powder and a heavier bullet (assuming either can be found.) But it still needs to feed properly in the Garand, and I really don't want to exceed the recent CMP  guidance limiting Garand bullet weights to under 175gr.  The few cast bullets I see out there that are in stock and between 165-175 gr are pretty blunt -- making me wonder if they will feed.

I have only shot factory 150gr FMJ and 168gr BTHP in the Garand up to now.  So a this is all new to me.

Any suggestions, sources, or other advice.?

Doc sends.